Clubman Pinaud fixed their plastic?

Discussion in 'Preshave and Aftershave' started by Gardeswell, Dec 31, 2022.

1. Gardeswell

Gardeswell New Member

I’ve been seeing posts around the web that Clubman Pinaud supposedly smelled like plastic unless you decanted it in a glass bottle for a month. I bought my first bottle last week to see what they were talking about but I don’t smell any plastic at all! Did they start coating their bottles like Old Spice does or did I just get a lucky bottle?

Enrico and gorgo2 like this.
  2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Maybe you just got a fresh bottle? :signs002:
    I'm no scientist, and I've done no experiments, but my theory is that it takes a bit of time for the plastic smell to mingle in with the juice.

Paul Turner, PLANofMAN and gorgo2 like this.
  3. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

I feel sorry for plastic that has to smell like Clubman.

BamaT, Primotenore, brit and 4 others like this.
  4. Enrico

Enrico Popcorn

You're just jealous. :prrr:

:happy097:

wristwatchb and gorgo2 like this.
  5. Paul Turner

Paul Turner outside the quote(s) now

My Clubman smells fine-plastic bottle or not.Perhaps it smelled somewhat better when Ed Pinaud got it up and going in 1830, but I was born 127 years later so I can't offer a comment comparing the two.

Last edited: Dec 31, 2022
    wristwatchb likes this.
  6. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

[​IMG]

Enrico likes this.
  7. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

El Bumpo

Now I wonder if they did change the plastic formulation, if not the juice. I got some slapped on yesterday at the barbershop, as mentioned elsewhere, and out of curiosity then went to CVS and bought a bottle. I doubt both could be very fresh but both indeed lack the weird note I always hated in Clubman. I would wear it now...in fact, I am.

Paul Turner and brit like this.
  8. SDK

SDK it's his fault

I have a half dozen assorted plastic bottles of Pinuad products and none have any plastic smell.