Does Anyone Use Both Straight and DE Razors?

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Willk, Feb 6, 2018.

1. Willk

Willk Active Member

Hi,
    Newbie questions: Background: I have been using a DE razor for about 7 years now and am pretty good at it. I can do a 3 pass shave in a relatively quick amount of time on a rushed morning before work, without any nicks or grazes. I like that. However, something keeps calling me to the straight edge. I don't know why. I bought a cheap one (plastic handle, blade is actually a "holder" for a DE blade), but it more or less functions as a straight edge. Anyway, I practiced using it, and it took a long time just to do a single pass, and my face stung a lot so I decided not to give it another pass. However, I managed not to nick myself.

My questions to everyone are:
    1. If I continue with the straight blade, is it crazy for me to use the DE razor for weekdays when I'm rushed in the morning, and the straight blade for weekends or special occasions "when I have more time"? (Why have two different shaving systems???)
    2. Can you get as nice of a shave using a straight blade (3 passes) compared to a DE razor (3 passes)?
    3. Is it always going to take much longer to use a straight blade compared to a DE no matter what?
    4. Does anyone recommend a cheap straight blade for a beginner I can order online and practice with? (I live in Australia)

Thanks,
    Will

Tdmsu, Keithmax, TestDepth and 2 others like this.
  2. B Wade

B Wade Well-Known Member