Fatip Grande Gold razor any good?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by venom0706, Feb 22, 2014.

1. venom0706

venom0706 Guest

I had an offer to buy the DE classical razor "Fatip Grande Gold". I am new to traditional shaving. Is the razor any good? I am soon traveling to UK and was wondering if it will do me a fine job there? Thank you.

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  2. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

I do not own one, I'm also very interested In the FaTip. Can't wait to hear what others say.

3. Darkbulb

Darkbulb Cookie Hoarder

If memory serves me right it's a pretty aggressive razor.
    Here's a video showing a guy shaving with it...beware it may...or may not...have some blood in the video :)

4. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

FaTip Grande: and 'grande' just means a larger handle than the Piccolo; an Italian-made open comb razor that may OC fans love. On the aggressive side; fairly easy to find the ideal angle. Easy to load (no alignment issues.

I had the Piccolo version (shares the same head as the Grande)—and found the handle too small for my tastes. I swapped the original Fatip handle out for the Mühle grande handle.
    The FaTip Grande handle should fall somewhere between these two extremes..
    [​IMG]
    I settled on a Weber handle—a great combo:
    [​IMG]
    As I stated above, the FaTip is more on the 'aggressive' side as far as razors go—very efficient with prominent blade exposure.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Here it is compared to the notoriously aggressive R41:
    [​IMG]

I enjoyed mine for a while—although I found it rather unforgiving at times. One misstep while shaving left me with numerous weepers around the mouth, upper lip and throat.
    This could simply be a case of 'operator error'—but I did not have any issues using comparably aggressive razors. It was certainly more aggressive than my OC Gillette New.