Favorite preshave oil?

Discussion in 'Preshave and Aftershave' started by Hirsute, Apr 11, 2012.

1. Hirsute

Hirsute Active Member

Any recommendations for your favorite preshave oil? I'm new to the DE thing. I know some folks mix their own, but I'd like to start with something I buy and then move on from their as I find out what I like or don't like. Oh, and there's an Art of Shaving store nearby if anyone likes their products--I always like to smell before I buy if possible. Thanks!

2. madmedic

madmedic Resistance Is Futile

I will be interested in replys to this. I use preshave creams.....which probably contain oils.....but to me..a pure oil will degrade the lather. I stand ready to be educated!

3. richgem

richgem suffering from chronic clicker hand cramps

I don't use a PSO normally, but for times I need extra protection (like when SE shaving), I like an undercoat of RazoRock brushless shaving gel under my normal lather.

4. Cavere

Cavere Active Member

Personally I use the art of shaving lavender pre shave oil and sometimes a lotion called udderly smooth that you can find for cheap at like Walmart that some guys swear by.

5. DFrancis

DFrancis Member

I don't use it a lot, but I do have some Prorasso kicking around that I break out from time to time. While I only had the sample, I loved the scent and feel of Truefitt & Hill's.

6. GDCarrington

GDCarrington Burma Shave

Olive oil does nicely when needed.

7. rbaloha

rbaloha Member

Pacific Shave Oil

DLP likes this.
  8. GeneRector

GeneRector Active Member

:) Howdy! I have been experimenting with using a little of Johnson's Baby Oil Gel for pre-shave. So far it has worked pretty good. Has anyone else tried this product? Always, Gene

9. Zilla

Zilla Well-Known Member

I like Proraso pre/post shave cream. I also really like Burt's Bees shaving cream which you can pick up at Target. It is a super lubricant to use as a pre shave. That is my go to pre shave when I use my straight razors

10. 5Savages