First DE razor -- Tech or Krona?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by TeachMe, Jan 1, 2009.

1. TeachMe

TeachMe New Member

I am just getting into wet shaving and am trying to decide between getting a Tech or a Krona. Would there be any difference in learning technique with these two razors? Any opinions or insight would be greatly appreciated.

Hopefully, Sunday I'll be picking up a Best Badger Brush from Crabtree & Evelyn. I bought some CO Bigelow today from Bath and Body Works (had to go ahead and try it this afternoon just lathering with my hands). So once I decide on a razor, I think I'll be all set to begin. Until then, I plan to practice my prep skills and learn to produce and use lather correctly.

2. Sailinblues

Sailinblues Well-Known Member

Welcome, they're both pretty mild shavers. Either one should get you headed in the right direction.

3. superbleu

superbleu Active Member

Tech is probably easier to find(or a superspeed), than a Korona would be.

4. MTgrayling

MTgrayling Rocket Man

First of all Welcome!

There may be a slight difference in technique between the Krona and Tech. The Krona has flat spots on the silo doors that almost automatically find the correct angle. With the Tech you will have to practice some to find that perfect angle. It's not hard to learn and I'd say it's a skill you should master eventually anyway. I'd suggest the Tech myself, but you won't go wrong with either razor.

5. wchnu

wchnu Duck Season!

I would recommend a tech for awhile.. then get a SE .....

Fuzzy

6. rodd

rodd Knotty Boy

Either one would be a great starter razor, but why limit yourself to one? ;)

7. wchnu

wchnu Duck Season!

I was being nice and not starting an AD :D

Fuzzy

8. burnWood

burnWood Mizzou Fan, YMMV

go with Tech. they are good to start with and keep using.

9. burnWood

burnWood Mizzou Fan, YMMV

ohhhh with the SE. give me a break you heathen.

10. wchnu

wchnu Duck Season!

Maybe he is a real man that can use one :signs080::duel