Got any straight razor tips?

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by VintageSoap, Apr 21, 2020.

1. VintageSoap

VintageSoap New Member

Good day, everybody.

I'll be getting my first straight razor soon, and I was wondering if any of you have any tips on how to use it so I can get a good shave while avoiding cutting myself as much as possible.
    What do you recommend I do? I'm a bit nervous about using a straight razor since it's my first time using one.

Your help is appreciated.

Edison Carter likes this.
  2. americanshamrock

americanshamrock Let's Make a Deal! Staff Member

3. Rkep01

Rkep01 Well-Known Member

First, the razor must be "shave ready". That means sharp enough to shave comfortably with. Contrary to what you might think, even a new straight razor is not shave ready. The new razor must be properly honed to become shave ready. There are a number of honemeisters on this forum who would be more than happy to help you. As far as shaving with it, keep the angle of the blade to face low, that is, keep the spine of the razor 1 to 1½ spine widths off your skin. The idea is to slice the whiskers off, not scrape them off and start off slowly until you get to know what you're doing. As far as cutting yourself, everyone does it occasionally. Keep an alum block handy. After a few shaves, you'll start to get the hang of it. They'll be plenty of others on the forum that will offer more suggestions; it's a very friendly place. Welcome to the brotherhood.

Edison Carter likes this.
  4. Primotenore

Primotenore missed opera tunity

Article Team
    I'll answer this one. I started my straight razor journey about 15 months ago. Knowing what I know now, these are my suggestions.
    1) Make sure you get a "shave-ready" razor from a REPUTABLE seller. I might suggest contacting Slash McCoy. He has a new store and sells inexpensive, shave ready razors.
    Tagging him @Slash McCoy
    2) Get an INEXPENSIVE strop and learn how to use it properly. You WILL cut it.