Hello from Utah

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by MrEE, Sep 15, 2019.

1. MrEE

MrEE Half Naked Shave Stalker

I am an operations manager for a well known software company. After working through the hardest time in my career I needed something to think about so I wouldn't worry myself back into working 80-100 hours a week. It may sound strange but wet shaving was that thing for me. Something relaxing and therapeutic to think about.

Now shaving is a ritual that makes me excited to get out of bed every morning.

I started out with straight razors, but eventually purchased a DE razor for travel. Now I shave with one of 6 or 7 favorite DE razors during the week and my straight razor on Saturday morning. My current rotation is Gillette Red Tip, Gillette Fatboy, Muhle R41, Merkur 37C, Parker Variant, and a standard Flare Tip. Mostly I use Voskhod and Permasharp blades and I shave every day.

I have given vintage Gillette razors to about 10 of my friends and my 7 year old daughter has her own 4 oz lather mug, brush, and 1956 Gillette flare tip that she lathers up and pretends with.

I love shaving and I am looking for artisan soaps to complete the experience.

Hembree, AGHisBBS, Shaver X and 8 others like this.
  2. brit

brit in a box

hello and welcome from canada..i love vintage gillettes as well..

Hembree and MrEE like this.
  3. wristwatchb

wristwatchb wristwatch "danger" b

Welcome to The Shave Den! I'm glad you're here with us. It looks like you're off and running with some wonderful gear. My entry into wet shaving is much like yours...maybe we'll trade war stories one day. For now, let's just chill and shave. :)

Check out the 30 Day Rule / Focus thread where we combine shaving (and how to get better at it), shenanigans, and the stuff of life. You'll also get plenty of suggestions for new artisan soaps to try. We've no shortage of expert enablers amongst us. A new thread is created each month, and the party never stops. Just jump in and hang on.