High Mountain Vs Silvertip Badger??

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by DaltonGang, Jan 27, 2017.

1. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

I'm trying to choose between a Whipped Dog High Mountain and A Silvertip Badger knot. Please educate me on the differences. Pros and Cons too.

RyX, Douglas Carey and RaZorBurn123 like this.
  2. Terry Williams

Terry Williams Well-Known Member

I'm no expert, but from what I've read, High Mountain hair comes from a very specific section of the badger pelt (between the should blades?). Silver tip are usually from other areas of the badger that are soft and dense, but not from whence came the High Mountain. Also, Silver tip knots may be bleached to create the "silver tip."

3. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
    Whipped Dog's High Mountain is not the same thing as High Mountain White, Manchurian, or whatever the forums happen to be calling it at the moment.

It's a mixed hair knot. Has Silvertip, Finest, and Pure all mixed together, and would be more properly called a softer 'Pure knot,' or a 'finest knot' with low backbone.

I would recommend the Silvertip. 100%.

Whipped Dog High Mountain on the left. Shavemac D01 (what I would consider a true "high mountain" knot) on the right.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Edit: and yes, the color difference between the two is that dramatic.

Last edited: Jan 27, 2017
  4. david of central florida

david of central florida Rhubarb Rubber

I have both and prefer the silvertip. It's firmer, while not scratchier, and also seems denser to me.

5. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

I have both and I'm sold on the high mountain!! What a wonderful knot with just the right amount of backbone with Uber soft tips.

Enrico, PLANofMAN and DaltonGang like this.
  6. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
    @DaltonGang