How long for a good shave

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Hairy Alaskan, Mar 3, 2010.

1. Hairy Alaskan

Hairy Alaskan eww da toilet

I've been using DE shaving exclusively for about 6 months now and it is still taking me about 15 minutes to get a decent shave.
    I have very dense coarse hair so I normally only get about 2 to 3 good shaves out of a blade but it seems to take a long time to get a smooth shave.
    My neck is super sensitive so I normally spend a lot of time carefully wittling the hair down. I normally have to make about 4 to 5 passes on it to get most of the hairs.
    Is this too long?

I don't necessary mind as I shave in the evenings to give my face time to heal but how long does it take you experienced guys to shave?

Thanks.

2. Rene

Rene Well-Known Member

I think it will al depend on the hairgrow, the experience, possibly the materials one uses, the moonphase, or the time ones want to spend in the bathroom :D

To me, shaving is a moment of Zen. I prepare my shave well and shave a 4-pass routine for about half an hour.

Is this long? I dunno....... But it works for me and I feel very comfortable with it:happy088

And as Hunnymonster once said: "It's not a race to slice your face" :D

3. Dridecker

Dridecker Sherlock

For me, a hot shower and a nice relaxing shave take about 30 minutes.

4. southernscribbler

southernscribbler Well-Known Member

including prep and clean up about 15 to 20 minutes, give or take. Actual shave takes about 10 minutes on average.

5. Infotech

Infotech Active Member

10 minutes from prep to splash for a quick daily shave. If I had a means of heating towels to the degree they do in a barber shop I'd love to spend a little more time with a hot towel prep. I shower before I shave so that takes care of the majority of prep...

6. sffone

sffone Member