Info wanted about the WWII German Tiger Tank.

Discussion in 'The Chatterbox' started by markjnewcomb, Nov 27, 2014.

1. markjnewcomb

markjnewcomb Well-Known Member

I was wathcing "Tanksgiving" on AHC today, so I got to watch a lot of tanks. But, there has always been something I have been curious to know about the Tiger. I figured someone here must know, so I will ask.

When you look at the picture below, note the area within the red box. What is that? Is that a spare piece of tread? Is it some sort of special armor? I know it is not for towing, because there are two towing rings just outside of that area. Does anyone know what this is?

tiger.jpg

2. Kilgore Trout

Kilgore Trout The Smart Bunny

I'm no expert but that could be a berm buster.

3. Mr. Shaverman

Mr. Shaverman Well-Known Member

Spare tread.

burnout961 likes this.
  4. markjnewcomb

Thanks. I thought it was, but had no way to confirm.

5. Bama Samurai

Bama Samurai with Laser-like Focus

Mine clearing apparatus?

6. Streambrewer

Streambrewer Active Member

That is indeed spare tread. Crews of any army like to carry spare with them, and probably mounted it where they thought it might do some good when not used. The Tiger's suspension could not be short tracked like a lot of other tanks, and the Germans took battlefield recovery to extremes, especially in elite tank units like this. So they would want extra. Still done today.

7. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

Ditto. If you look on the R side by the turret (from our POV) you can just make out what I think is the head of the gigantic tread wrench.

[​IMG]

My mistake, it's the heads of some kind of cable. But I've seen others with tools mounted on the surface.

Last edited: Nov 27, 2014
    markjnewcomb and Kilgore Trout like this.
  8. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

Sorry, was thinking of this one...different tank. About 3/4 through...

9. Streambrewer

Streambrewer Active Member