Need a new razor

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Turk, May 29, 2015.

1. Turk

Turk Well-Known Member

I've been using the Merkur 34C for at least 8 years now. Does anyone recall switching to a different razor and it was e a mindblowing change! Something that you loved and don't see how you survived so long not using it. Well, I'm looking for that Safety Razor. During that 8 years I had a 59"Fatboy I would use from time to time. Any suggestions by anyone?

2. david of central florida

david of central florida Rhubarb Rubber

3. Turk

Turk Well-Known Member

David, what do you mean by "progress" is that a razor?

4. david of central florida

david of central florida Rhubarb Rubber

2015-05-29-08-29-25-2071278033.jpeg yes it's made by Merkur.
    the progress knocked my socks off.
    if I'd have bought it first. I may not have a razor collection.

Last edited: May 29, 2015
    Douglas Carey and GDCarrington like this.
  5. feeltheburn

feeltheburn Well-Known Member

I used my Progress this morning and it was good! Lots of other good ones out there too though. Sounds like the Fatboy didn't really knock your socks off so you might be more of a Merkur type guy. Maybe take a look at the Futur too.

6. Jayaruh

Jayaruh The Cackalacky House Pet

Supporting Vendor
    :happy088::signs011:

Douglas Carey likes this.
  7. Jasman

Jasman Well-Known Member

Are you considering open-comb razors, or do you prefer sticking to closed-comb? The RazoRock Bamboozled RAKE is a remarkable combination of closeness and comfort that won't break the bank, if open-comb is an option.

GDCarrington likes this.
  8. Tallships

Tallships Well-Known Member

Yup , the Weber PH. Wider gap and more blade exposure than the 34c.

9. PatrickA51

PatrickA51 Well-Known Member

I would say that you can not beat a Weber PH or a Weber Classic. If you can find one of either of them you should jump on it.

GDCarrington likes this.
  10. Tallships