Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by Jacob Laser, Jun 2, 2017.

1. Jacob Laser

Jacob Laser New Member

Hi all, I have just began the life of wet shaving. After watching many tutorials, my shave is close and I have very little irritation. However, I still have a few questions.

1. Lets begin with my sideburns. I do not have a very thick beard, except for the hair on my sideburns. I also achieve a nice, close shave on the rest of my face, but I have difficulty getting a close shave on my sideburns. Is it possible to use too little pressure? After three passes I still seem to have stubble wear my sideburns were.
    2. My shaves end with almost no razor burn. However, when I do get razor burn it is always on my jawline and chin. I have tested preshave oil and it helps, but with it I still get some razor burn. Is there a correct way to shave my jaw/ chin?
    3. My dominate hand is my right and I am not very good with my left hand. I try to shave the left side of my face with my left hand, but still seem to always unconsciously using my right hand for my entire face. Is there a problem with reaching across my face to shave?
    4. I see which-hazel is very popular here, and I would be willing to try it. I have tried an after shave splash and like the cooling effect of the alcohol. I see there are some after shaves that have which-hazel in them. Is this just as good of an option as which-hazel?
    5. Finally, how much cleaning is done after each shave? I notice my razor is coated in white residue after each shave. Also, what is don with the left over lather in the soap tub?

RyX likes this.
  2. Drygulch

Drygulch Snowballs

Welcome, Jacob!
    1. There is a fine balance between pressure and blade angle. Once you have the blade angle dialed in, you can use a little pressure. There is a thread around here somewhere about "Riding the Cap" that explains it really well. Are you doing a WTG, XTG, and ATG pass in the sideburn area?