Own a Darwin Standard or Darwin Deluxe?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by drone115b, Sep 4, 2016.

1. drone115b

drone115b Active Member

I have heard that the Darwin Standard and Darwin Deluxe are very prized vintage razors. I'm not experienced with vintage razors so it would be interesting to have some input what makes these such exceptional pieces.

I'm considering whether I should try to replicate one of these razors. It is unlikely that I will be able to produce them in metal, but I would be able to reproduce the quality of the shave with a fairly hard and stiff plastic, if given enough information. For me, personally, it's the quality of the shave that interests me.

If you own one of these razors and are willing to help me out, would you please message me? You will need some patience (and maybe a camera with a macro lens) to put up with a bunch of ultra-detailed questions and requests for measurements. I will try to be respectful of your time, and I have some experience at this, so hopefully you will not find me too much of a burden.

If you own a vintage razor that is fairly easy to replicate (not a TTO) and if you believe that the shave quality is exceptional, then I'd consider replicating something other than a Darwin. The Darwin design was distinctive, so it seemed like a nice place to start.

In the interests of full disclosure; if successful, I will likely put it up for sale at my "store" at shapeways.com.

Thanks!

2. Bussemand

Bussemand Well-Known Member

I own a Deluxe, and although I've seen one or two people praise it as their best razor, I'm certain that many (if not most) owners value the design even more than the shave. Of the 20-some razors I own, the Deluxe is the most aggressive (more than the R41), and so I only use it once in a while.