Razors with permanent blades- what they are?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Asd, Mar 6, 2011.

1. Asd

Asd Well-Known Member

I'd like to know more about razors that are in between straight and safety. I mean Rolls, for example. How do you find them? How do they work for you? Advantages and disadvantages?

2. battle.munky

battle.munky Has the menthol.munky on his back!

You find them here or on eBay and in antique shops primarily.

Mine doesn't work at all for me yet but I have some conditioning of the blade, hone, and strop to do first. That, I think is going to be the only problem, finding a good and salvageable Rolls from jump. By good I mean one that has a blade, hone, and strop that is salvageable to begin with. You gotta think, this thing has been sitting in a display case or a closet somewhere for the last 50 years without use, it is going to need a little love before you can start whipping out awesome shaves with it.

I'm new to Rolls' though, perhaps Greg or Mark (gregindallas and mycarver, respectively) will see this thread and shed some more light. I know they do work really well when you get them in working order. People love 'em.

3. Slivovitz

Slivovitz Well-Known Member

Besides the Rolls, there are also some old single edged razors by Kampfe which took removable wedge blades. Some had automatic stropping machines, but I think you had to hone the blades with a regular hone. Some later models would take both the wedge blades and disposable ones. I have one of these, but have used it only with the modern disposable blades.

Apart from shave quality with the permanent blades, which I don't know about, it's a trade off between not having to buy replacement blades, and having to do maintenance on the one that you have.

4. stingraysrock

stingraysrock PIF'd away his custom title

:sihns011