Replate or not help??

Discussion in 'Special Projects' started by kjbarth, Sep 24, 2019.

1. kjbarth

kjbarth Well-Known Member

I’m not really a proponent of replating vintage razors except for razors that may degrade if not protected by the plating. Just my opinion, what people do with their own razors is their own business.

Anyway, I’ve got a LeCoq Licence Palmer that’s in ok shape but is missing almost all of the plating on the baseplate and some plating on the cap. I would be tempted to try replating myself save for a few facts (1) never replated anything before, not that this would stop me (2) have no replating equipment, not that this would stop me (3) there are multiple metals on this razor and that complicates things (4) I don’t want to screw up or ruin the razor.

So my question is this. Can anyone recommend an EXCELLENT resource/vendor to properly replate this razor?? Or someone I can talk to about replating this razor?? Currently it’s got a brass or bronze cap with chrome or nickel plating, a zinc (I think) baseplate and handle with chrome or nickel plating, a steel spring (I think) with a brass or bronze ferrule at the top to provide pressure on the cap, a brass or bronze turn knob partially plated with chrome or nickel.

Your help in providing a recommendation is appreciated

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Carbide Mike, brit and RyX like this.
  2. MrEE

MrEE Half Naked Shave Stalker

Yes, the cap is brass and the plating is chrome. The plate and handle are zamac. Zamac is a zinc aluminum alloy. This is certainly beyond the capabilities of most hobby or jewelry plating businesses.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Rev579, brit and kjbarth like this.
  3. MrEE

MrEE Half Naked Shave Stalker

Just look up local plating businesses and start calling them. Tell them you have a small zamac part previously plated in chrome that you want stripped and replated. If they decline ask them to refer you to someone.