Stiff Synthetic Brush Recommendations?

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by TheBurgh, Apr 2, 2022.

1. TheBurgh

TheBurgh Active Member

As a noob, I have been doing quite a bit of reading (here and elsewhere) about brushes. Much like wines, blades and cars, there are an innumerable quantity of attributes. I can't quite drill down to the direction I've taken in personal preference. Many posts are helpful, but I'm looking for a synthetic.

So, I'll ask for a bit of help in recommending a brush and keep my preferences simple.

Looking for a stiff, dense, non-floppy, scrubby, grind-the-lather-into-the-beard synthetic brush. Not interested in the spreading, painting or splaying type of brush. Really not concerned with whipping the lather or the amount of lather retention by the brush.

Sorry if my terminology is sloppy. Still learning.

Thanks for your help!

2. brit

brit in a box

as a guy who used boar brushes for years,the tuxedo synthetic knot -24mm is a great choice.ticks all the boxes for me.:)

Silvestris, Hogie, Aztecmike and 2 others like this.
  3. DrStrange

DrStrange Well-Known Member

4. MrDaniel's

MrDaniel's Well-Known Member

Maybe an Omega S-Brush could do the trick?

I had one for a while and it was really stiff, probably the stiffest brush I've ever used. Too stiff for me personally.

5. TheBurgh

TheBurgh Active Member

Just ordered this one to (inexpensively) get started on my quest.

6. MrDaniel's

I hope you will enjoy it! The knot might not be as dense as some others, but it certainly has backbone and some scrub to it.

7. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
    If that fails to satisfy, the old nylon "first generation" synthetic brushes from the 70's/80's might be the ticket.