too dry, too wet ??????

Discussion in 'Shave Creams' started by icemanwbs, Nov 4, 2014.

1. icemanwbs

icemanwbs Well-Known Member

Seeing I'm still very new to this, I've expected problems to pop up now and then. While whipping up a bowl lather either with Prorasso or Arko, I can't really tell yet when I have enough water added. I try by sight , whether it looks dull or shiny . Any thoughts ?

2. theFAT98

theFAT98 Well-Known Member

A lot of big bubbles tend to mean its to wet. Usually just keep working it with your brush.

I usually find my lathers to be done when they have a very wet looking shine to them.

3. 45auto

45auto Well-Known Member

Imagine whipping cream in your head as your finished product.

4. mikewood

mikewood Well-Known Member

It should really whip up like whipped cream. If it has big bubbles it's too wet. If it seems flat it's too dry. It's better to start off good dry and add a sprinkle of water every 20 seconds time and time again and keep whipping and watch for it to blossom. Homework for tonight is to make five bowls using the Marco method. By the fifth time you should have it down. By the tenth bowl you can make it in your sleep.

LookingGlass, icemanwbs and macaronus like this.
  5. macaronus

macaronus Sir Nice-a-Lot

Herm2502 and icemanwbs like this.
  6. icemanwbs

Not familiar with the Marco method.

mikewood likes this.
  7. mikewood

mikewood Well-Known Member

Check it this video.
    If you bowl lather there is no reason not to let the water and soap from the puck drip into the bowl as you load the brush with soap.

8. kurtmill

kurtmill Active Member

I'm a newbie and I thought these videos really help know what to look for once I start using a brush.

macaronus and icemanwbs like this.
  9. markjnewcomb

markjnewcomb Well-Known Member