Tried a few new razors

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by shavingidiot savant, Jul 21, 2008.

1. Hi All,
    I've been using a fatboy for the last 8-9 months now, and recently decided to revisit something different from a while back. I bought a nice user grade Aristocrat from a member last week, and spent the last 3 days getting to know it a little better. Before that, I'd been using a toggle for 4 days. That was a razor I'd been wanting to try, and I lucked into one.
    So, for the last week I've been using razors other than my 'perfect' one......heh. Let me just say it took quite a while to find those few razor/blade combos, but worth the effort. The result is an effortless act of whisker whacking..............very fun!
    Anyway, These two recent razors are just not for me. Well actually, I haven't totally given up on the toggle yet, but close. They were both fine, as far as shaving went, but just not as comfortable as the fatboy. I don't like the handle on the toggle very much, even though I thought I would. It's odd having that lever thing on the end, instead of that reassuring fatboy base. It's longer too, which is something I DO kinda like, but just not the way the design feels. Plus, this thing is heavy, and maybe the weight's distributed differently or something. Just doesn't quite fit my face so far.
    Hehe, that poor Aristocrat is gonna go bye bye soon. I can definitely feel a different (to me) kind of shave going on with one of those. They feel like they're shaving very close, but I can feel the edge of the safety bar more? That make any sense? Seems like the head's flatter on the Aristocrat, and the rounder fatboy head fits me better. I could definitely feel something I didn't care for that a different blade won't help fix. A good, but not great shave. Damn......I wanted to love both of em........heh. The Aristocrat will be on the market soon.