VDH Deluxe Shave Soap or Proraso Shave Cream?

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by kevinajili, Apr 30, 2012.

1. kevinajili

kevinajili New Member

First of all, I am new to these forums, so hello everybody :) I wasn't sure weather to post this in the soap or the cream section so I just chose one at random, sorry if it's in the wrong place. So I am fairly new to DE shaving (1 month or so) and have two choices locally, either the Proraso (actually the C.O. Bigelow) Shaving Cream or the Van Der Hagen Deluxe Shaving Soap. I've read reviews on both and both seem good, but I have specific questions. First of all the quality of the actual shave, which would most likely be the better performer? Secondly does the soap stay hydrated throughout the shave or will I have to add a little bit of water into the bowl I lather in between passes? And lastly which product (150ml Proraso tube vs 2.5 oz VDH soap) lasts longer?

2. jeraldgordon

jeraldgordon TSD's Mascot

First off, welcome! With the caveat that YMMV and this is just my opinion, here goes:

1. The C.O. Bigelow (Proraso) will offer a better shave - better lubricity and cushion. Skin care will be about the same for both.
    2. If you make a good thick lather it will hang together for the duration of 3+ passes with either of these products.
    3. The VDH soap will last a couple months or more of daily shaving - the 150ml tube of C.O. Bigelow will only last a month or less.

Hope that helps!

3. Hanzo

Hanzo Well-Known Member