What might this indicate??

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Reformation Student, Jul 26, 2007.

1. Reformation Student

Reformation Student New Member

While shaving today nicked myself (removal of a fair amount of skin) in a couple of places. I noticed it was when a certain point on my straight touched my skin. I'm wondering if I don't have perhaps a burr or some such anomaly on the blade at that point. I did a thumb nail test and it indicated a keen, smooth edge.

The razor still gives good shaves although it's getting to the point where it would benefit from being refreshed a little.

With that information, I'm a little unsure of what actually is going on, thus unsure of how to fix it. I'm leaning towards a burr and thinking of doing 1 backhoning pass then refreshing the razor as normal, but I would love some other suggestions.

Thanks!

2. PalmettoB

PalmettoB The Old Guard

I'm still a bit of a newbie at honing compared to guys like Bill and Joe and Peter, but it might be that one spot on your blade has dulled some and drags slightly, then a sharper point (where you are getting cut) catches and nicks you.

Is it a smiling blade, or just straight across? As you say, maybe refresh it on a finishing stone or pasted strop and see if that does it.

3. Reformation Student

The blade is not a smiling blade

4. PalmettoB

PalmettoB The Old Guard

Okay, that should make it a little easier to hone or strop. You don't have to worry about "rocking" the blade along the hone or doing part of it at a time.

Yeah, especially after a thumbnail test, it will need refreshing anyway, so try that first.

5. Reformation Student

OK, thanks. I knew I was sacrificing the edge doing a thumbnail test but it was the only way to see if I had a problem. Do you have any suggestions as to other ways to test it other than the thumbnail?

6. qhsdoitall

qhsdoitall Wilbur