Wondering.

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Shotwell, Aug 27, 2014.

1. Shotwell

Shotwell Well-Known Member

Just wondering if I should ever try this on my own... I'm new to the idea of shaving with Safety Razors, and wondering about straight razors. A couple of questions:

(1) How often do you have to have it professionally sharpened?
    (2) Do you have to use a strop every time?
    (3) How scary will it be for a first-timer? Am I likely to cut myself?
    (4) Where should I go to buy my first -- brand recommendations welcome -- *if* I decide I want to give this a try.
    (5) What's more expensive for Total Cost of Ownership... Safety Razors, Straight Razors, or (gasp) refillable store-bought brands like Gillette Fusion, etc.?

vwp528 likes this.
  2. HolyRollah

HolyRollah BaconLord

Hi Eric. I'll do my best to share what I know on the subject...

(1) How often do you have to have it professionally sharpened?
    A well-kept & maintained straight razor need not be sent out that often. There are folks who use many razors in rotation and when they do send them out for honing, I'd venture to guess they'd do this maybe once a year?
    Yes. Every time before use.
    There are those who do so after every shave as well—although there's some disagreement on the merits of doing this.
    SRs can be intimidating. The odds of cutting oneself with a straight razor are higher than a safety razor (hence the word 'safety' in the name), but with practice, these odds diminish greatly. Always respect the edge, but in time, one's trepidation regarding the use of straight razors seems to go away as it becomes part of your normal routine.
    (4) Where should I go to buy my first -- brand recommendations welcome -- *if* I decide I want to give this a try.
    Before offering suggestion on what to buy, I always recommend doing research on all matters related to straight razor shaving. Best to go in with eyes wide open before making a financial commitment.