Adjustable advice

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Joelio, Jun 14, 2014.

1. Joelio

Joelio Well-Known Member

Okay gents (and ladies!)

Tomorrow will be my first test run with my new (old) Black Handle Super Adjustable. I've never used an adjustable before.... Where do I start??

For a point of reference, my normal every(other) day shaver is a Cadet OC and I use a RazoRock mission from time to time as well.

Bobcat, Tattoobob and RaZorBurn123 like this.
  2. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

Start at 3, if it's to mild go up 1, or to aggressive go down 1. With my Super Adjustable I set it at 7 and forget it. Take your time with using the higher numbers. Please share how it went.

BamaT and ObiDon like this.
  3. LookingGlass

LookingGlass Well-Known Member

Also, please use the same blade and soap during the test runs. Too many variables will keep you wondering if it is the setting. Do this for at least 30 days. Once you get settled on the number and are getting nice shaves, then branch out on the other gear. Please keep us posted.

Jasman, ObiDon and RaZorBurn123 like this.
  4. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

Good, sound advice, do follow it.

5. HoosierTrooper

HoosierTrooper Steve-less in Indiana

Just pick any number you want and start there, it really doesn't matter because you'll know after a stroke or two if what you have it set on is doing what you want or not. If it isn't then adjust it up or down accordingly.

BamaT likes this.
  6. ObiDon

ObiDon member in questionable standing

Don't forget to loosen the doors before you change numbers. I just used my FB for the first time today set to 2. Milder than my Merkur HD. It was great on my neck but I will go to a 3 next time on the rest of my face.

7. BamaT

BamaT Well-Known Member

I started at 4 on my Slim adjustable, went up to 5, up to 6, and then back to 4! Then I gave it to my wife because she wanted a longer handled razor than the flair tip she was using.

8. Charles K