Blade suggestions?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Hawkeye, Apr 7, 2013.

1. Hawkeye

Hawkeye New Member

I'm new to the Shave Den, as well as safety razor shaving, so please go easy on me.

I've been shaving with a safety razor for a little over a month, and I was just about ready to give up until yesterday. It seemed like nothing I did would prevent an irritated, bumpy, and red lower neck. That's exactly why I never really took to cartridge in the past, and instead went with an electric shaver. The promise of a better shave is what excited me about traditional wet shaving. I was about ready to admit defeat yesterday morning, but realized I had one brand of blades from my sample pack I hadn't tried yet, the Sharks. I never recalled anyone mentioning that brand in any of the posts I had read, so I didn't give them much credit. Immediately after my shave I could tell a difference. I did a two pass shave, and was closer than any of the three or four pass shaves I had previously attempted. On top of that, there was zero irritation. Complete night and day difference.

Now for my question: Before I go and buy a bulk quantity of Shark Chrome blades, are there other brands that have similar characteristics? Now that I have an idea of what works for me, I want to make sure I'm not missing something before I commit.

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

First, welcome to the Den.

Take a read hear about what blade to get and why.
    The best thing to do is get a sample pack. My advice - DO NOT BUY BULK ON ANY BLADE YOU HAVE NEVER TRIED. What works for me may not work for you. What you really like may tear up someone else. Blades are the most personal and varied item in shaving.

BigT likes this.
  3. Erik Redd

Erik Redd Lizabeth, baby, I'm comin' to join ya.